Project Description
Porta Magna Gate, 1692
Arsenale, Venice
Project
Restoration of the Porta Magna Gate, 1692
Location
Arsenale, Venice
Project director
Vincenzo Casali
Contractor
Fucina Ervas
Uni.S.Ve
Funding
Dior
Venetian Heritage
Start date
January 2024
End date
September 2024
Cost
145,000.00 €
The ancient monumental gate of the Venetian Arsenal was built in its current form around 1460 and is one of the earliest examples of Early Renaissance architecture in the lagoon. The architectural complex consists of a large stone gate designed in the style of a Roman triumphal arch. The gate is topped by the Lion of Saint Mark, the symbol of the Republic of Venice. In 1692, following the victories of the Venetians led by Doge Francesco Morosini, known as “the Peloponnesian,” over the Ottomans, the Signoria decided to enrich the land entrance to the Arsenal with a sculptural decorative apparatus to celebrate the conquest of the Peloponnese. Six monumental gates were installed between the pillars supporting sculptures depicting gods and virtues, delimiting the elevated stone area that also serves as a bridge to the Old Arsenal.
These precious iron grilles, adorned with decorative bronze elements, were also created at the end of the 17th century. Before the recently completed restoration, they showed numerous problems with iron oxidation, which in many cases had caused the stone elements supporting them to crack. Additionally, the expansion of the iron fractured the bronze decorative elements.
The restoration, financed by Venetian Heritage with the generous support of Maison Dior, was carried out by Alessandro Ervas, a restorer specializing in the conservation of metals, and the company UNISVE for the stone structure. Thanks to the valuable collaboration between Dior, Venetian Heritage, and the Italian Navy, another iconic monument of the Serenissima has been restored to its former glory.
